2021-2022

September 

September 1, Wednesday

Application Deadline: Nazareth College Piano Competition (in-person). Participants will perform one work by a female composer and one work by any composer in a contrasting style. For more information contact Dr. Jacob Ertl at (585) 389-2696 or email: jertl2@naz.edu

 

September 8, Wednesday, 3:00 pm.

Registration deadline: Heddy Killian Empire State Competition (Virtual)

http://www.nysmta.org/heddy-kilian-empire-competition

 

September 10, Friday, 10:00 am

RPTG Board meeting

Denton Cottier & Daniels

 

September 15, Wednesday, 3:00 pm

Application deadline: MTNA NY State Competition (Virtual)

 

September 17, Friday, 10:00 am

Piano Recital & Membership Meeting

Home of Barbara Noval, 43 Parker Drive, Pittsford, NY 14534. Our featured artist this year is Benjamin Hopkins, who holds a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of British Columbia and is a former student of Brian Preston. We will gather at 9:45 AM with the recital at 10:00 AM. A reception and members meeting will follow.

 

September 24, Friday 11:59 pm

NYSMTA Virtual Symposium Submission deadline for Poster Display Session and Lightning Talks

 

September 26, Sunday

Nazareth College Piano Competition (in-person)

 

October 

October 1, Friday

National Guild of Piano Teachers Audition estimates are due.

Contact: Wendy Hendrickson at brucelegacystudios@gmail.com

 

October 2, Saturday

Gold Cup Online Registration opens - Application on RPTG website: www.rochesterpianoteachers.org

 

October 5, Tuesday

Deadline for Fall Semester Scholarship Application

Application details and contact information on pages 23-24

 

October 11, Monday

Deadline for October 23 Student Recital Applications

 

October 15, Friday, 11:59 pm

NYSMTA The Heddy Killian Empire State Competition video upload deadline

 

October 15, Friday

Deadline for November Duet Newsletter

 

October 15, Friday, 10:00 am

RPTG Program at Pittsford Community Center - 35 Lincoln Ave. Pittsford, NY, 14534 - Activity Room 18

Teacher Social with presentations on RPTG Student Opportunities

 

October 16, Saturday, 2:00-5:00 pm

NYSMTA 2021 Virtual Symposium, Zoom

 

October 23, Saturday, 2:00 pm

Student Recital at 75 Stutson Street

Costumes encouraged!

 

November 

November 1, Monday

Deadline for Howard Hanson Audition applications

Send to Jean Sandquist Watson. More information on page 22

 

November 5, Friday, 10:00 am

RPTG Board meeting at Denton Cottier & Daniels

 

November 12, Friday, 10:00 am

Program at Ciminelli Formal Lounge in the Eastman Student Living Center, 100 Gibbs St.

“Two is Better Than One! The Magic of Two-Piano and Four-Hand Music” presented by Elinor Freer

 

November 29, Monday

Deadline for December 12 Student Recital Applications at 3736 St. Paul Blvd.

 

December 

December 6, Monday

Deadline for Gold Cup Festival online applications

Application on RPTG website: www.rochesterpianoteachers.org

December 12, Sunday

2 pm Student Holiday Recital at 3736 St. Paul Blvd.

 

December 15, Wednesday

Deadline for January Duet Newsletter

 

December 15, Wednesday

Deadline for NYSMTA Student Achievement Program.

Website and Registration Form

For more information contact: Bonnie Choi: bchoi6@naz.edu

January 

January 3, Monday

Deadline for January 15 Student Recital Applications

 

January 4, Tuesday

Deadline for Howard Hanson Audition program approval

 

January 7, Friday, 10:00 am

RPTG Board meeting, Pittsford Community Center

 

January 15, Saturday, 2:00 pm

Student Recital

Bethlehem Lutheran Church

48 Perrin Street

Fairport, NY 14450

 

January 17, Monday

Deadline for Howard Hanson Audition program changes

 

January 29, Saturday

Gold Cup Festival

Nazareth College       

February 

February 5, Saturday

Deadline for Spring Semester Scholarship Application

 

February 5, Saturday

Gold Cup Festival Honors Recitals

1:00 pm, 2:30 pm and 4:00 pm

Nazareth College, Linehan Chapel

 

February 13, Sunday

Howard Hanson Auditions, Nazareth College

February 15, Monday

Deadline for March Duet Newsletter

 

March 

March 4, Friday, 10:00 am

RPTG Board meeting at Pittsford Community Center

 

March 7, Monday

Deadline for March 19 High School Senior and Adult Student Recital Applications

 

March 13, Sunday, 7:30 pm

Howard Hanson Winners' Recital

Wilmot Hall, Nazareth College

 

March 13, Sunday, 10:00 am to 2:00 pm

NYSMTA Student Achievement Technique Exam

Nazareth College

 

March 19, Saturday

Deadline for American Composer Series Applications

 

March 19, Saturday

1:30 pm Adult Student Recital

2:30 pm High School Senior Recital - Reception to follow

4:00 pm Program

“Top 100 Teaching Tips and Tricks! (Well, maybe not quite 100)” presented by Brian Preston. Reception to follow

Rochester Academy of Medicine, 1441 East Ave.

 

April 

April 1, Friday

Postmark Deadline for NYSMTA Student Achievement Theory Exam Send to: Kym Schifino 19 Farm Field Lane, Pittsford, NY 14534

 

April 9, Saturday

American Composer Series With Timothy Brown

Nazareth College, Linehan Chapel

 

April 15, Friday

Deadline for May Duet Newsletter

 

April 18, Monday

Deadline for Student and Teacher May 1st Recital Applications

 

April 29-30, Friday-Saturday

NPTG Auditions (Dates requested, will be confirmed closer to event)

 

April 29, Friday

Postmark Deadline for Junior All-Star Piano Competition

For more information contact: Sheri Neilsen at (585) 747-9885 or sheri.neilsen@gmail.com

 

April 30, Saturday

Deadline to apply for Laura Heilbronner Scholarship. For more information contact Brian Preston. Further information on page 25

 

May 

May 1, Sunday

1 pm, 2 pm and 3 pm Student Recitals

4 pm RPTG Teacher Recital

Third Presbyterian Church, 4 Meigs Street

 

May 13-15, Friday-Sunday

NPTG Auditions (Dates requested, will be confirmed closer to event)

                                                           

May 21-22, Saturday & Sunday

NYSMTA Student Achievement Repertoire Exam

Nazareth College

 

June 

June 3, Friday, 10:00 am

Board meeting

 

June 4, Saturday

Junior All-Star Competition

Nazareth College Rehearsal Hall

 

June 5, Sunday

Junior All-Star Competition Winners' Recital

Nazareth College, Wilmot Recital Hall

 

June 11, Saturday

RPTG Potluck Dinner and Members meeting 6 pm

At the home of Teddy Carr and Mark Regan. Guests welcome! RSVP by Sunday, June 5

 

June 27-28, Monday-Tuesday

Piano Pedagogy Workshop – We welcome Dennis Alexander back to Rochester!

Sponsored by RPTG, NYSMTA and Nazareth College School of Music at Nazareth College.

 

July 

July 31, Sunday

RPTG dues are due

 

August 

August 15, Monday

Deadline for September Duet Newsletter

 

August 15, Monday
Deadline for RPTG Handbook 2022-23 changes